Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Voltage Splitter? Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

average_male

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to electronics and have a seemingly basic question:

1) If I have two devices that require two different voltages, say 3v for one device and 5v for another on the same board, how would one supply these different voltages off of one 12v power supply?

I would guess two voltage regulators? One that takes in 12v and out puts 3v and another that takes in 12v and out puts 5v?

2) What if my power supply was 5v, would I then need just one regulator for the step down to 3v, or do I need to consider that the regulator will drop the line in of 5vs down some?

What is this referred to in electronics? Voltage splitting? Any resources would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to electronics and have a seemingly basic question:

1) If I have two devices that require two different voltages, say 3v for one device and 5v for another on the same board, how would one supply these different voltages off of one 12v power supply?

I would guess two voltage regulators? One that takes in 12v and out puts 3v and another that takes in 12v and out puts 5v?
Yes, two independent regulators should do.

2) What if my power supply was 5v, would I then need just one regulator for the step down to 3v, or do I need to consider that the regulator will drop the line in of 5vs down some?
It all depends on the power source and it's output impedance.