Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Voltage regulation advice!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ayeung

Hello-just joined this fine site, anyhow im a graduate engineer and need some advice.

The problem: Need to generate multiple voltages for a portable device[video interface demo].

However I plan on using a 3.6V lithium battery and need to generate the following voltages...1.8, 2.5,-2.5, 3.3 and 5V--from current considerations the max any one of the regulators would source could be 100mA.

Efficency is a concern but board space is also a priorty.

The device will roughly source 200mA to 400mA current.

Should I step up with a high efficeny step-up converter to 5V...then I could

(1) step down with high efficent step-down converters to the required voltages....use a voltage inverter for the -2.5V??

(2) Just use LDO's and step down to the required voltages-- saving space??

Which of the above would be better, or is should I consider some other means.....

Any advice would be great!!!!

Thanks

Alan

Is this an exercise in estimating things, or do you actually need to build something?

First thing you need to completely specify is the battery - is it a rechargable Li, or some primary one - what's the peak voltage and what does it decay to at it's end of life?