Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

voltage divider and rectifier circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

spectrum

hello all,

hope i'm not annoying you with these stupid circuit tests, i studied electronic at school, but i have never developed a circuit with op amps and impedance problems, so i am looking for some help and clarifications.

My problem is: i have a sinusoidal wave 200Vpp signal that is applied as a carrier to an antenna.
In particular circumstances this carrier signal sometime can have 210Vpp and some others 200Vpp. I need to reduce this voltage and have as output in some way a dc level <5V, or a 1/0 logic state to give it as input to a microcontroller.

But i'm not looking for the best ready solution, i want try to do a circuit by myself, understanding things step by step.

I was trying dividing and rectifiying directly with a schottky, without success, so attached there is a diagram with my new approach.

diag1.png

So i've tought to reduce the voltage with some MOhms resistors, to avoid to create problem to antenna transmission. So, antenna still works fine. Then, i've tought to give the signal to an op.amp, to have low impedance and more current available as output. Then to rectify and have a DC level between 0 and 5V.

So i have some questions:

1) in the point "A" i was expecting a 20Vpp sinusoidal wave, but with x10 oscilloscope probe i see a 2Vpp signal.