Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Voltage dependent switching relay

Status
Not open for further replies.

SirSparks

I have a photo voltaic system (12 volt 1000W max) with 120 volt shore supply and 120V inverter supply. Presently I have a manually switched DPDT relay which operates well but I would like to automate it to switch from battery bank (inverter) to shore supply below about 12.2 volts. As an electrician I am not brilliant at soldering electronic circuits so am thinking I could use an SSR with a series zener input to switch the DPDT relay automatically

Relay coil draw is less than one amp I am hoping that a series 12v Zener across the SSR input and fed with battery voltage with perhaps a voltage dividing pot also in series to make it all adjustable would work.??

I am not sure though that the 2 volts or so normally required to operate the SSR might already be present even when the voltage is below 12V

Any advice greatly appreciated

Thinking about this I am also concerned that the Zener once fired will simply cause the relay to latch or oscillate even if the voltage drops below 12.2V ?

Last edited:
I think your concerns are well founded. Looks like you're just gonna have to learn to solder.

Hi. If subject is urgent, its better to just use the word "Urgent" rather than writing a copy of your last post. And you have to get used to the "Edit" button.
Well, enough about this.