Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

voltage amplification!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
i am new to electronics ... at present i am reading about various electronic devices and how do they work...i have some doubts over the application of a transistor amplifier(common emitter npn)....
first i would tell u what i know....
there are two circuits , one between base and emitter and other between emitter and collector....the collector emitter circuit is given a large reverse bias voltage and base emitter is given a forward bias voltage...
as the base emitter voltage increase , current in the collector emitter circuit also increase proportionally..(i also know why does it happen...)
how is this circuit used as a voltage amplifier ,i mean on increasing the base emitter voltage only the current in collector emitter increase while the voltage across it remains constant, then how do the voltage gets amplified??

The transistor has a high current gain that is called hFE on its datasheet.
A small increase or decrease in base current creates a current change of up to 800 times in the collector to emitter.
Then select a suitable input signal resistance, suitable base resistors, a suitable collector resistor with suitable power supply voltage and suitable load resistance so that Ohms Law can show you how much the voltage is amplified.

A single transistor can provide a voltage gain of up to 200 but at the higher levels the output is terribly distorted without adding "bootstrapping".