Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Vista and programming through USB port

Status
Not open for further replies.

nye

Hi im a beginner, and at the moment im learning to program in C and i hope to start microcontrollers soon. My laptop has Vista, and has only USB ports. i bought a USB-serial and USB-parallel port converter. so can i program on my laptop using the converter???also does anyone know of any websites where i can buy microcontroller programming kits, or starter kits for microcontrollers???thanks in advance...

Both my Inchworm and my Picstart+ both work with a USB to RS232 converter. My JDM type programmer doesn't. If you want to work in C via USB then **broken link removed** may interest you. I can also recommend the Inchworm+ with the Unicorn extension from Bill at **broken link removed**. I also have an official Microchip ICD2 and Bill's seems to be many times faster.

Mike.

is RS232 serial or parallel port???and Inchworm is the name of the programming board??do all these come with software, or do i hav to get them separately??ICD2 is also a board??pls forgiv my ignorance..

Pommie said:
I also have an official Microchip ICD2 and Bill's seems to be many times faster.
<off topic>

Really? Any idea why? Which Microchip ICD2, the first one or the later one with an 18F4550?

Pommie said:
Both my Inchworm and my Picstart+ both work with a USB to RS232 converter. My JDM type programmer doesn't.