Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

video capture card

Status
Not open for further replies.

shanku_16in

Hello.
i am a project trainee in TCS. I have been given the task of finding a video capture card with the following specifications:
1.It should support PCI bus
2.It should work in LINUX
3.It should give a minimum capture frame rate of 30 fps
4.It should have 4 input channels
5.The output should be given in RGB

After searching a lot, all that i have managed to find have everything except the RGB output. Infact, I found an Nvidia card(Quadro SDI capture card) which even gives RGB output, but my project lead says it has too many extra features that has added to its cost substantially and is not viable for the project that i am working on.
Now the solution that i have thought to this is converting the MPEG4 output given by most cards into RGB by some additional simple hardware. But googling does not help. Can anyone please help me on this by advicing something that converts MPEG4 into RGB.

Thank you,
Siddharth

Check out the top board on this page:
Video capture cards | AccessGrid.org

It has two D-sub connectors on it. One obviously takes a cat-of-nine-tails cable with the four BNC connectors installed on it.
The other D connector we can only hope is an RGB output, as they don't supply much info. It does have Linux support. It's not cheap, as it goes for $150 USD with the discount.