Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Very New, need some help...polyphonic instrument?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cerupcat

Hi,

I am very new to electronic technology and building circuits. For a final project for a class I am trying to build a simple laser harp. I've seen 3-4 places online that have schematics and such to build one, but they are more advanced and also use MIDI where I need everything to be strictly analog (including sound). So no programming can be involved.

I really don't know too much about parts out there and such. Basically, right now I am trying to build the first step which is the analog sound. I followed the directions from Forrest Mims III about creating an organ, but the problem is it is not polyphonic. When two notes are active it changes both sounds.

Is there a way using a 555 timer to create an organ/multi-note instrument that is polyphonic (can play multiple notes at the same time that hold out)? Or is the only way this is possible is to have separate 555 circuits for each note and have the output to each go to the same speaker(s)?

I've looked online and haven't found a schematic or anything for a analog multi-note polyphonic organ/instrument.

Thanks for any thoughts!