Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

very desperate ....

Status
Not open for further replies.

B.Anil kumar

Hi, I am Anil from India and i am working on a flapping wing insect.I am not good at electronics and i need help on building a circuit.I need a D.C circuit operating at 12 volt max, that has an inductor that can create an oscillating magnetic field to drive a square 1'' magnet at 45 to 50 Hz frequency.this magnet will be fused into Polypropelene joints and will form the muscle for my artificial insect.I got evry thing worked out including composites for the wings.i tried to use a motor from a CD drive but its too fast and is very heavy.I need the magnet to have enough good field strength .Any one who helps me out will be doing a great service to Ornithopter type flight.my design is very different then others and is completely based on natural design of the Dragon fly.IT CAN HOVER.no one untill now has designed one wich can hover in true insect fashion.

I'm not a biologist but as far as I understand the motion of the wing surface for insect flight is out and down not just up+down.If you have solved this then one approach could be to use a CMOS SMT ( surface mount technology ) timer circuit driving an inductor loop that either attracts or repels the magnet and when not energized allows the wing to return to a neutral position. Neutral would necessarily at full extend or full contraction of the wing structure.

You can use Neodymium or Samarium-Cobalt magnets.