Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Variable power supply troubleshooting

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kempachi343

Hi,

I've just built up a 5-15vdc power supply, which I want to be capable of about 8amps. This is my first attempt at an electronics project, I researched everything for this project off this forum.

I followed the design on the attached diagram, Even tho he is using a 26v input. I used the same components, I used a 0ohm - 20kohm tripot as the voltage adjustment. My input is 17vdc after a bridge rectifier and 4700uF capacitor. I couldn't find 0.1ohm 10w resistors, so I used 5w instead.

When I first tested it out, I had 8.5v no matter what I set the tripot too, I added in a test lead between - and the other leg of my tripot, I didn't solder it in at first because in the spec sheet for LM723 I saw a resistance through there was only for higher voltage circuits, and I wasn't completely sure I was reading the diagram right.

After I'd added this lead in, I had 8.5v - 14v adjustments, I was very happy, and proceeded to try a load on it. I hooked up a pair of motors that I expected would draw around 6A, they ran, although only drawing about 3A, and I could tell the motors had no grunt in them, after about 5 seconds the motors stopped, and my voltage dropped down to about 2v.