Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using a Staco Variac with rectifier to make a variable DC power supply?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulCrabtree

Hi, I'm looking for some help with the circuit and parts to turn a Staco 3PN variable autotransformer into a variable DC voltage output. I bought some 25A rectifiers from Amazon(https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07TG18DDB?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details) and I have a 590mfd 200V capacitor. I am a beginner at electronics and would like a simple circuit that will work. The rectifiers aren't well marked, one side has AC at one corner and + at the other. Is this doable with what I have?

I think you may have some safety issues with what you are attempting. I'm not clear on whether an autotransformer's output is isolated from the mains. [EDIT: It is not isolated] If not, you could sustain a potentially lethal poke. Connecting a ground lead from an instrument has the potential for sparks. I would be extremely careful with this setup. Normally a bridge rectifier is used with a center tapped secondary winding, where the center tap becomes the DC ground on the secondary side. I urge you to avoid experimenting with this setup. IMHO it is extremely dangerous and potentially lethal.

Last edited:
Exactly how do you anodize Titanium?