Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using a scope

Status
Not open for further replies.
I got a BK 2120B from a friend. It seems to be in almost new condition.
Anyway....
I have it hooked up to the 120 wall supply. The scope ground is on the power cord ground, the probe is on the hot lead, and the neutral is safed off.
I have never used a scope before, and the manual is a bit confusing for me. I understand the Volts/Div. knob, but I am confused by the pullout knob in the center of that V/D knob. It is marked "pull x5 mag". I guess it increases the V/D by 5 times, but it is also variable. So, for example, you can be looking at a peak to peak wave of 100 volts, turn that center knob, and increase or decrease the number of divisions. How am I supposed to use that knob exactly.?
Thank You

Last edited:
I don't know if you have it but this would be a good start to understand your new scope.

The X5 increases the vertical gain by a factor of 5. So if you are at the most sensitive range of 5 mV/Div it would take it to 1 mV/Div. See page 3 of the link. The variable gain takes the scope out of the calibrated gain modes (vertical) and is useful if you want for example to set a signal to a specific number of vertical divisions. There are applications where this is useful. Just remember it is an uncalibrated function.