Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using a laptop LCD display in a car for Video

Status
Not open for further replies.

scott35dcar

I am new to this and was wondering how possible it would be to use a LCD display extracted from a laptop to play DVD video using a mobile DVD player. I am under the impression that there is a A/D conversion that needs to happen.

Can anyone help me with this.

scott35dcar said:
I am new to this and was wondering how possible it would be to use a LCD display extracted from a laptop to play DVD video using a mobile DVD player. I am under the impression that there is a A/D conversion that needs to happen.

Can anyone help me with this.

An LCD display from a laptop requires a huge amount of electronics to function (which is on the laptop motherboard), it's NOT a monitor, and even if it was, a computer monitor isn't compatible with video signals.

Thanks Nigel,

I guess I am just ignorant on this subject but, If a computer monitor isn't compatible with video signals how do you watch any video? There is a conversion process correct?

How does a standard LCD monitor differ from a Laptop LCD?

I do appologize for posting such uniformed material.

Yes, there's a conversion process - involving a LOT of digital processing. Basically the incoming video signal is digitised and stored in RAM, it's then read out at a different rate, to match the computer monitor.