Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using a Junebug to program another microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

micro9000

Hey guys, this is my first time posting here. It was recommended by the all about circuits forum that I post my questions here. I apologize if this has been asked before, but I could use the help specifically related to my problem. I've started to try and program my microcontroller using the Junebug which I have purchased. I have the PIC18F4685, and I was wondering how I go about programming it through the Junebug.

I have built and compiled a successful program for the Junebug where the LEDs flash. In doing so, I have made sure that the link and library paths are correctly linked in build options. Also, I have the necessary header file for the PIC18F1320, which the Junebug uses.

I have found this C program on a tutorial site to do a simple test. Here is the code I have used:

Code:
#pragma config OSC=INTIO2, WDT=OFF, LVP=OFF, DEBUG=ON
#include <p18f1320.h>
#include <delays.h>

void main()
{
ADCON1 = 0x7F; // make RA0 digital
TRISA = 0b10111110;
PORTA = 0b00000001; // Turn LED on
while(1); // loop forever
}
Now, here is the problem. When I connect the ribbon cable shown here (the second picture towards the bottom):

16F or 18F and advice on selecting a programmer to use - Page 2 - All About Circuits Forum

I get the following error:

Code:
Programming Target (12/18/2009  12:55:25 AM)