Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using 24v 0.4A to power up a 20w 12v halogen bulb

Status
Not open for further replies.

X3msnake

Greetings

I'm a complete newbie in the electronics realm, I wonder if you guys can help me figuring out how I can fix this problem I have.

I have this 20w 12v halogen bulb that I´m directly connecting to a 12v power. So far I have manage to burn 2 power supplies, one 12v 0.8A and one 12v 1A, My guess after investigating a bit, according to one amp calculator that can be found in the web this lamp needs 12v 1.6A at least to run without overheating the Power supply.

Makes sense since one could fry an egg at the time of death of those poor power supplies.

I went trough my stash of power supplies and found a 24v 0.4A, My belief after pluging it directly to the bulb is that it will hold but the lamp seems to heat up more than it might be normal.

Hope someone can point me in the right direction as to what must I do to use this 24v 0.4A supply without burning the lamp and specially the Power supply.

Thank you :)

Last edited:
24V x 0.4A= 9.6W. Its voltage is too high and its current and power ratings are too low for a 12V/20W light bulb.

When the 12V light bulb overloads the transformer then both get extremely hot. One will quickly burn out and the other will be strained to almost destruction.

Greetings

I'm a complete newbie in the electronics realm, I wonder if you guys can help me figuring out how I can fix this problem I have.