Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Use IGBT or power MOSFET to replace 30A automotive relay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vl78

Hi everyone,

I'm a student in college and I'm working on the electronics for my project team. I would like to know if anyone has any knowledge regarding the replacement of relays with either IGBTs or power MOSFETs?

I would like to replace 30A automotive relays for 12-14 volts DC.

I've attached a hasty DXP screenshot of the schematic for one of the relays. This is the main relay and goes out to the injectors. I know they draw a lot of current instantaneously when they are open, but I'm not sure how to measure how much that is - if someone could help me out with that too, I would be so greatful!

Thanks!
Vivian
:)

relay.png

You might do some looking and find the same parts now being used for this purpose on modern cars. They will standup to the automotive electrical system and should not be too expensive because they are produced in great quantitative.

When you say "injectors" do you mean fuel injectors? If so, they are normally driven with a low side switch. The plus voltage is constant on them and switched to ground. Relays are not even close enough to being able to switch fast enough. There are a lot of "injector driver" ICs available, just Google.

Hi,