Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Usb To Mmc File Transfer

Status
Not open for further replies.

dclopez

hi there! i'm a newbie here.
please help me in my project... a microcontroller-based usb to usb or mmc to mmc and vice versa file transfer device.. i need to used PIC microcontroller but after that I don't know what are the materials neeeded inorder to develop that device.. pls help me.. i need to have a prototype after 1 week...
badly need it... tnx for the help! :eek:

i just need a non-working prototype.. like the design and architecture of the project and if possible schematic diagram...:D

I'd start looking at FTDI products which are pretty popular for offloading most of the USB work so that you're mostly dealing with just a serial problem. I would think that they'd be the best place to start your investigation.

One thing that you might not appreciate yet is that "real" USB is a master-slave architecture, so both sides of a connection are not the same. Most microcontroller USB functionality is just for the slave side. You may find yourself looking at USB OTG for implementing the master side.

USB was designed for some amount of simple serial compatability, like with RS-232. I'm unsure if both sides can be peers to just essentially fake a direct RS-232-style serial connection between them. Seems like it might be possible if USB really does provide RS-232 compatability.