Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

usb flash memory and pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

x_sa07

hi

i am new to pic programming and having a problem with this project:
an mp3 player with no large storage memory that reads the mp3 songs from a usb flash memory(not SD) connected to it and output some text on lcd

the lcd part was completed
and now iam facing several problem on how to interface the pic to the usb flash memory.

can anybody help me to understand the interface and how to communicate whith the usb flash memory(for example reading or writing files)

any help or suggestion is appreciated

thanks in advance

You have a large problem, because suitable processors with USB interfaces (like the 18F series) are slave only, you require a USB host to read a USB Flash memory. It would be far easier to use an SD card instead, which can be easily read via SPI.

However, if you search these forums it has been mentioned a number of times before, and I believe that there is a USB host interface that you can buy?.

Use a Vinculum VNC1L USB reader... they even have a module with MP3 decoding built in.

The PIC can then provide the UI and control.

P.

thank u for ur time
ive read about the Vinculum VNC1L USB reader
but since iam in jordan there are no suppliers here

any alternatives?

Its a fairly complex project, an SD card is the only practical way to go. Lots of projects of this type can be found on the net. You'll also need an MP3 codec IC.