Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ups and Downs of Rotary Encoders?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Speakerguy

Hi,

I am planning to use rotary encoders in my next project. I've never used one before. I need a 'coarse' and a 'fine' adjustment knob for a DDS frequency generator, and there might be a lot of ambient noise (tesla coil for example) so I don't want to use a simple pot and ADC pin for each.

Is there anything I should know about rotary encoders before I use them? I plan on using the port B interrupt on change and always interrupting on the falling edge of one signal and then looking at the value of the other signal to determine direction change. Does that sound reasonable? Any thing that might be problematic with that in a very high EMI environment?

Thanks!

You might have more luck using a LPF between the POT and the ADC. I assume the ADC is in a PIC or AVR, etc? EMI on an interrupt pin can be pretty disruptive on a micro also. The neat thing about using a rotary encoder is that you can easily make them multiturn and use the same encoder for both fine and coarse adjustments by toggling a divide ratio in code. Whatever input method you use, you'll need to stop any EMI from getting into the DDS and associated circuitry. If you don't, random resets and erratic operation will be the flavor of the day.

Last edited:
Hi,