1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Upgrade Tonight

Discussion in 'Site Issues & Feedback' started by ElectroMaster, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. ElectroMaster

    ElectroMaster Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes:
    127
    Location:
    Broadbeach, AU
    Hi All,

    In about 6 hours we will be updating the forum software. I will make an announcement ahead of time so this is just a FYI. Subscribe to this thread to be alerted of any update as I will post them as a reply.

    This update will bring many many bug fixes (1500+), various speed improvements, a new editor and also a more stable/efficient mobile style.

    Regards,
    EM
     
  2. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes:
    507
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Awesome. Thanks for the heads-up EM!
     
  3. ElectroMaster

    ElectroMaster Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes:
    127
    Location:
    Broadbeach, AU
    The forum has been updated but style issues remain. I'll be working on them over the next hour or so.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Reloadron

    Reloadron Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6,801
    Likes:
    282
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA

    Came out pretty nice. I like how the little sub forums fit in.

    Ron
     
  6. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,238
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    Editing a post

    hi EM, Since the upgrade, cannot EDIT a post or enter into Advanced mode. The Edit post shows all the formatting tokens. E
     
  7. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,238
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    PM User Names missing

    hi EM,
    Sorry to start another new thread, but unable to EDIT previous one.

    All the User Names on my PM files have been replaced with the word 'array'

    E.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 5, 2012
  8. ElectroMaster

    ElectroMaster Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes:
    127
    Location:
    Broadbeach, AU
    Edit posts has been fixed. The 'Array' issue will more than likely be in quite a few places - now on the list to to-fix.
     
  9. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes:
    914
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    Mark all files as read isn't working
     
  10. ElectroMaster

    ElectroMaster Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes:
    127
    Location:
    Broadbeach, AU
    Fixed
     
  11. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,323
    Likes:
    1,231
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Icons are missing from the Quick Reply box header.
     
  12. ElectroMaster

    ElectroMaster Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes:
    127
    Location:
    Broadbeach, AU
    Fixed.
     
  13. MrAl

    MrAl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,049
    Likes:
    961
    Location:
    NJ
    ONLINE
    Hi,

    For what it is worth, i like default Courier New font for the text editor for technical forums. That's because the various characters can not be confused as with some other fonts. for example, lower case L and numerical 1 or lower case I. With Courier New it's always easy to tell the difference. This makes a big difference with things like part numbers, etc.
     
  14. tcmtech

    tcmtech Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,701
    Likes:
    432
    Location:
    Sawyer, North Dakota, USA
    OH NO! An overnight upgrade that effectively made everyingthing useful worse or outright nonfunctional?


    Quick reply is barely functioning, advanced reply does not exist, IE spell turns the spelling gerrorors to well.... you see.

    EM did you sell out tMicrosoftft?

    And no I am not typinDaffye Duck speaks spepurposeurrpose. Spell checks is doing it.
     
  15. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes:
    507
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    tcmtech, I have absolutely no clue what you just said :D

    I am having trouble with the quick reply and reply with quote, too....
     
  16. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,238
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi D8,
    This is a Reply with Quote, no problems

    My spell checker is OK

    Using Firefox
     
  17. Jugurtha

    Jugurtha Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    164
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    Algiers
    Thank you, guys :) I didn't notice any glitches here..
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  18. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes:
    914
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    EM... Mark as read doesn't appear fixed... Using chrome "16.0.912.63 beta-m" (double clicking the icon does nothing)
     
  19. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes:
    507
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Eric, mine keeps freezing up. I get the rotating black dots showing it's thinking, but it never comes up with the reply or reply with quote pane. I wonder if it's just on my end....
     
  20. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,238
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    It might be??
     
  21. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes:
    507
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    I'm using Chrome. Maybe that's making a difference...?
     

Share This Page