Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

up/down counter

Status
Not open for further replies.

geth21

Hello this is my first post :)
i'm pretty new to electronics been studying the subject in school, now it's time to build a project and i'm looking at building a up down counter on a bread board and i'm not really sure where to begin any help o'r tips appreciated

i'll get a upload of my design brief and try get a photo of my attempt of a block diagram tomorrow if that'll be more help

Up/down counter ICs exist, e.g. CD4510 or CD4516. You can use several of those, depending on how many digits your counter will have. Decoder ICs will probably be needed too, according to the type of display to be used. You will also need means such as switches to start/stop/reset the count and select the count direction.

The 40110 is an up-down counter with a built-in 7-segment LED display decoder.

Up/down counter ICs exist, e.g. CD4510 or CD4516. You can use several of those, depending on how many digits your counter will have. Decoder ICs will probably be needed too, according to the type of display to be used. You will also need means such as switches to start/stop/reset the count and select the count direction.

If you use CD4510 or CD4516, you have to also use decoder like CD4511 (binary to 7 Segment).. but the most beautiful part is you can program also the counts with parallel load input using 4510.. 4511 can also holds the output.....