Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

(unwanted) 'magic' happening with 74LS164 shift register

Status
Not open for further replies.

schweini

Hi!

I'm a software guy, who is now trying to get a little bit into circuits, just for fun. I.e.: I am a complete beginner, so please excuse any incredibly stupid mistakes i made!

Now that that's cleared up:

I am trying to manually light up some LEDs with the 74LS164 8bit shift register.
You can see a photo of my circuit (which I hacked together according to various pretty pictures I found online) here:
http://gometa.org/shift_register.jpeg

The idea is that the left push-button is supposed to set the input pins (1 & 2) to 5V, and the right push-button is supposed to set CLOCK pin to 5V, that the the...erm...registers may shift. The RESET pin is, right now, wired to Vcc via a 4.7kohm resistor (although i also tried it without the resistor)

The ULN2803 in the upper left corner is supposed to drive some bright LEDs someday, and isn't causing any discernible problems right now, so it may be ignored.

I am using the 5V (up to 2Amps) cables of an old external hard drive power supply to power this thing.

My problem is that nothing seems to work, and, even worse: very strange things are happening.

a) the buttons don't seem to do anything. The voltage on pins 1&2 or the CLOCK pin goes to 5V and all, but the output pins happily ignore that fact.