Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

unlinear brightening of sunrise lamp

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikkoj

Hi everybody
I am an unexperienced hobbyist in electronics. Recently I have build a sunrise lamp, based on triac switching. The PWM scwitching has been accomplished by a linear 30 min voltage ramp and a 100 Hz sawtooth voltage, which are combined to a variable duty cycle rectangular voltage by a comparator. The system works fine, but the increase in brightnes is not linear with the voltage ramp: at first the brighthess increases slowly, it is most rapidly increased at about 15 minutes, and the brightening slows again at the end of the (linear) voltage ramp.

I am not sure, but I think the reason for this unlinear increase is the sine waveform of AC, which seems to cause the increase in voltage to follow an "S-shape" allthough the increase of the duty cycle of the triggering singnal is linear.

How to solve this unlinearity? Is it possible to construct an "inverted S" voltage ramp to compensate the unlinearity. Bellow is a crude modell as a character graphics.

Voltage x
I x
I x
I x
I x
I x x x
I x
I x
I x
I x
I x
__________________________________> Time

Mikko

Unless you're using a true RMS meter you can't measure the voltage properly.

The human eye has a logarithmic response but incandescent lamps increase their brightness exponentially with the increase in voltage so it should cancel that out.