Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Underwater Navigation .. any ideas where to start?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris_P

I want to make some sort of navigation aid for me when I go diving. I use a compass at the moment, but it is pretty easy to get lost and worrying about this takes away from my enjoyment. I have 2 ideas so far and I am hoping some of you may have some suggestions on which would be the easiest to do and where to start with the design. I have some experience with programming AVR microcontrollers.

Idea 1/ Something that tracks the direction and distance I swim and will then calculate a return journey when needed. Problems to overcome with this would be that currents will effect distance and speed travelled. Maybe an accellerometer and a digital compass would be enough to work all this out?

Idea 2/ Some sort of beacon system. Place a beacon where the dive starts and then have a handheld device that will point to the beacon and display distance. I like this idea, but how I would do this? I am not sure.

Any ideas, thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Accelerometers have pretty lousy drift, and you'd have to figure out which way is down in order to use the information from the compass (Although I vaguely remember one style of compass that compensated for non-level measurements). It's probably worth a shot.

As for beacons, googling turned up this page:
https://www.qsl.net/vk5br/UwaterComms.htm