Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ultrasonic Vein Detector

Status
Not open for further replies.

yasinnajib

hello all. I'm a third year insrumentation student working on a project for my current year , which if progresses then plan on continuing to the fourth.

The project is to develop a portable vein detector . So far the only viable option that we've come across is to use ultrasonics and measure pressure variations in the vein by creating a pressure gradient there, hence detecting the vein.

i havnt a clue on what kind of hardware to use .

pls do post any valuable information on hardware design and any other suggestions.

What kind of vein are you talking about?

preferably the one that comes from the top and joins the other near the forearm area of the hand.i saw it in an anatomy book.
but why do you ask...?

Is this project to solve a real problem, such as to facilitate phlebotomy, or just to demonstrate application of ultrasonics?

If it is the former, locating the particular vein you are describing is not usually a problem. The problem occurs with getting a needle in it, not through it, and not collapsing it. There are many alternative sites (drug addicts can show them them to you :D), such as between the index and middle finger. Will your envisioned device work at all locations?

Finally, have you considered using other types of measurement devices or is the project limited to ultrasonics?

John