Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ultrasonic Pest Repellent

Status
Not open for further replies.

zeitcheist

First thing, I'm a newbie in creating electronic projects. I've just been studying the basics. I need help on this please. Anyone who can help me will be much appreciated. We need to assemble the following circuit:

**broken link removed**

Sorry, if the image is large, I don't know how to change the size in BBcode.

The circuit is freely available and I think we can build it.

The author made a note about the schematic. But I need to clarify certain points. The quoted phrases are from the author, next each of them is my question.
It is well know that pests like rats, mice etc are repelled by ultrasonic frequency in the range of 30 kHz to 50 kHz. Human beings can’t hear these high-frequency sounds.
1. Is this true? Isn't this frequency harmful to humans (even if we can't hear this)?

By using this circuit design, frequency of emission of ultrasonic sound is continuously varied step-by-step automatically. Here five steps of variation are used but the same can be extended up to 10 steps, if desired. For each clock pulse output from op-amp IC1 CA3130 (which is wired here as a low-frequency square wave oscillator), the logic 1 output of IC2 CD4017 (which is a well-known decade counter) shifts from Q0 to Q4 (or Q0 to Q9).
1. Can I replace CA3130 with UA741? I have researched and they have the same pin configuration, but different technology. Can it affect the output?