Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

uber newb

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clonus

hi there

been sometime since i read about ohms law.. looking for a memory boost.

im not an electronic expert but i have a pretty good understanding of the concepts

however, either im tired or just forgot something here

im trying to figure this out.

i have a pic and a sensor

i want the pic to use 3 volts and the sensor needs 5 volts

so, using resistors, what would i do?

i thought i seen a resistor drop voltage calculator or something, can't find it

i need to limit the current on the pic and leave the sensor as is with the 5 volts.

also..

if i left the pic to use 5 volts, would it be less efficient than if it ran at 3?

thanks
clonus

Ok, tell me if im hot or cold.

looking at the 12f675 datasheet i see that the pic uses a max of 700microamps at 3 volts, so with my power supply of 5 volts should i be using a 2.7k resistor?

You can't use a simple dropping resistor because the current consumption of the PIC continiously changes with each clock cycle. What would happen if the current consumption at one point dropped to 350:mu:A? The voltage will just increase, this spike could cause undesired operation.

Your best option is to use a small linear regulator to power the PIC, one with a very low quiescent current.

Why do you want to run the PIC at 3V, it runs quite happily at 5V (which is it's normal voltage).