Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

UART on PIC16F877A problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

lloydi12345

UART Serial Communication on PIC16F877A problem

Hi, I am new on serial programming using UART and this is my first attempt to program it. I used to program on ASM but now I wanna give it a shot on mikroC. I hope someone can tell me where my mistake is. RD0 - RD3 is supposed to light and RD4 - RD7 is supposed to be off whenever my push button is unpressed. When the push button is pressed, it does the opposite.

mikroC code:
Code:
unsigned int i;

void main() {
            PORTD  = 0;
            TRISB  = 1;
            TRISD  = 0;

UART1_Init(9600);           // initialize USART module
                                         //  (8 bit, 9600 baud rate, no parity bit...)

if (PORTB = 0x01 ){     //if push button is unpressed
                   UART1_Write(0b00001111);
                   Delay_ms(100);

while (1) {
                         if (UART1_Data_Ready()) {
                         i = UART1_Read();                  // read the received data

PORTD = i;
                         Delay_ms(100);      //light LEDs on RB0 - RB3
                         }
                   }
             }

else  {                //if push button is pressed
                   UART1_Write(0b11110000);
                   Delay_ms(100);

while (1) {

PORTD = i;
                         Delay_ms(100);    //light LEDs on RB4- RB7
                         }
                   }
             }