Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

UART on 16F627A not working!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

threewire

Hi,

I have been trying to get UART code running on 16F627A.This is my first time with PIC.I got the LED blinking at two different Hz.Hence I confirm that 20 Mhz crystal is set by setting config to 3FA6.I have used 15 pf capacitors.My max232 with USB converter is working fine.But I am not able to get UART working on 16F627A.Please help.

I used the mikroC compiler's UART example.

You must post your code examples when you asking code problems.

UART example code as given in MikroC is :
Code:
unsigned short i;

void main() {
   USART_init(9600);                     // initialize USART module
                                          //  (8 bit, 19200 baud rate, no parity bit...)
   while (1) {
     if (USART_Data_Ready()) {            // if data is received
       i = USART_Read();                  // read the received data
       USART_Write(i);                    // send data via USART
       }
     }
}

Code:
config bits :

pwrt = on
mclr = off
hs_osc = on
wdt = on
lvp = off

Hi, 3W

looks You do become an "afficionado" ...

may I suggest you a little mod ' ???

Code:
unsigned short i;

void main() {
   USART_init(9600);                     // initialize USART module
                                          //  (8 bit, 19200 baud rate, no parity bit...)
   while (1) {
     if (USART_Data_Ready()) {            // if data is received