Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Two questions from a Beginner

Status
Not open for further replies.

kiechle

Hi,
I am a beginner in Electronics. About 12 years back(I am 32 now), i used to do small electronic projects like LED Clock, Audio amplifiers, etc. I am thinking of learning the basics of Microcontrollers now.

Question1.
Do you guys have any suggestion on a Book i could buy to learn the basics of Microcontrollers. I am looking for something which covers the very basics of Microcontrollers for a beginner like me?

Question2.
You can't do anything in Microcontrollers without knowing C language. Right? Do you guys have any suggestion on a good book which covers the fundamentals of C language for Microcontrollers?

Question2.
You can't do anything in Microcontrollers without knowing C language. Right?

No, most microcontroller programming is done in assembly. There are C compilers available, but I would strongly suggest you learn assembler first - it's important to know the device you're using, and assembler forces you to do that.

Thank you Nigel.

I have no idea what an assembly is. If possible, could you post any URLs on learning what an assembly is.

Last edited:
Hi,
I am a beginner in Electronics. About 12 years back(I am 32 now), i used to do small electronic projects like LED Clock, Audio amplifiers, etc. I am thinking of learning the basics of Microcontrollers now.

Question1.