Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Two NC switches, OR logic, with Timer

Status
Not open for further replies.

hwmonkey

I am a hobbyist. I have used automation systems and repaired damaged PCBs and stuff, but my training is limited to a course when I was about 10 years old which was a long time ago. Usually, I am a hobbiest out of necessity. I used to have some nearby friends to consult about issues, but we moved. I am hoping to find some assistance here.

Context: I have a commercial garage door opener. It operates perfectly when opening. Closing is now an issue. When I push close, it will not stop trying to close. It has two normally closed switches in the circuit. Both switches are operating perfectly. Without a switch in the circuit, nothing operates. I have concluded that the logic chip on the circuit board is damaged. I cannot find the logic chip to purchase anywhere. The circuit board was discontinued and the replacements costs $150. https://www.powermastergateopeners.com/Powermaster-Circuit-Board-PBR2-PRB3-PBRSS_p_515.html which is more money than I can afford right now.

Solution: Break the circuit at the point of the switches and create my own sub-circuit. The sub-circuit would simply break the 110V supply (relay) when either switch A or switch B is tripped. The circuit would break for 4-10 seconds then return to normal state.