Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Two fan variable speed circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

RedHerring

I am new to electronics and circuits, but I have always been currious.

Here is what I want to do:
Connect two identical fans up with a battery and a a switch or two to tun them off and on and from low to high speed. Both fans would be on at

the same time.

Now for the complication; the fan and the battery are different voltages.
-- The battery is lithium-ion, 7.4V, 1500mAh.
-- The fans are 5V, .11A, .6W

My thought is to put the fans in parallel, because in series would just give me the one slow setting (3.7V).

So of course I am going to have to create some way of dropping the voltage. So far I have read that I can do this one of two ways. With resistors

or with diodes. With the diodes I would use the .7V voltage drop, using 4 in series should drop the voltage just below 5V. With resistors it

would be the standard voltage divider setup.

1. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using diodes to knock down the voltage?
2. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using resistors to divide the voltage?

I have read read that resistors will affect the amps on a circuit.

3. What does this affect?
4. Do I need to get those amps to equal the amps needed for the two fans to run(.22A)?

For variable speeds on the fans I only need a high(normal) and low setting. I have read that to do this I just need to lower the voltage. So my