Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Two basic questions about LM211

Status
Not open for further replies.

nyoo

Hi,

As a beginner, I'm trying to merge a few simple schematics, and have a couple of basic questions about the LM211 comparator.

For the Texas Instruments version of the LM211, there are two pins, "col out" and "emit out". See attached schematic and pin-out drawing. I picked "col out". Was that right? In either case, could someone please explain why the two options?

Also, in a previous discussion of LM211, a forum advisor suggested that you could drive a relay directly with LM211's 50 mA output. But I'm told the pull-up resistor is absolutely required. Could someone please resolve that conflict?

Thanks for your help.

Attachments

• lm211 diff therm.JPG
    lm211 diff therm.JPG
    18.2 KB · Views: 581
  • LM211 pins.JPG
    LM211 pins.JPG
    6.7 KB · Views: 265
How much current does the relay use?

If it's under 50mA then you can drive the relay directly.

Think about it, a pull-up resistor just connects the output to the positive rail. A relay would behave just like a pull-up resistor.

For future reference, please draw comparators using the proper symbol or at least put pin numbers on the schematic otherwise it's extremely hard to read.
**broken link removed**

Using the COL output (pin 7) to drive the 2N3906 or the relay is OK. But also note that all of the applications that use the COL output also connect the EMIT (pin 1) to ground or (-).