Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Tube guitar amp: tone controls disable when effects loop is engaged???,

Status
Not open for further replies.

Electarded

I'm very new to tube amps and brand new to the forum. Looking for second and third opinions regarding the non functioning tone controls when my effects loop is engaged.
I have a Crate USA V3112. Whenever I plug a pedal or my Fender Satellite SFX powered cabinet into the effects loop all the tone controls become disabled. They function fine when any pedal is in front of the amp but the Fender Satellite requires the loop be used to add the CRate amp. Once the amp or any pedals are attached, the Crate loses tone controls???
I had taken it into a Crate repair shop under warranty and all they told me was that it was normal for this amp??? That sounded like an easy way out of any responsibility on their part and it just doesn't make any sense to me at all. That can't be right...can it??? I have checked and double checked the connections, everything is in order and everything works as it should, other than having NO tone controls at all when the effects loop is engaged.
Any knowledge of such things would be greatly appreciated. HELP!
Thank you.

Presumably it's designed to be that way, with the internal tone controls bypassed so you can use solely external conditioning in the effects loop. It's not really something you could have by accident though.

Do you have a circuit diagram for the amp?, it would be simple to tell if you do.