Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Trying to make a circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigB9k

Noob here, trying to make a circuit (or find one)

I'm trying to take a radio, and add in an auxiliary port.
This is easy by tapping into the FM tuner's L & R audio output. But, I want to leave the FM functioning, still easy to do with a standard 3.5mm stereo jack, that switches when something is inserted.

But I don't want to use a headphone jack, I want to use RCA's
Any ides on an automatic (stereo) audio switching circuit?
That will switch over to the secondary input once it detects audio?

It's a 12v radio, and the am/fm tuner is pre-amp, so when I connect my mp3 player to it, it'll be a stronger signal of course, but I'll worry about limiting that later.

So, any ideas?

Attachments

• needed.jpg
    needed.jpg
    22.3 KB · Views: 282
Last edited:
Turns out this is called a 'ducking' circuit, which seem to be slightly complicated.
Couldn't some form of Voltage detector and relay be used to simply accomplish this?

kinda lost??
you have an FM radio that has a speaker as output
you want to connect an mp3 player to the radio outputs so the radio speakers still output sound AND your mp3 player has the same audio coming from the headphones?

well, here is an example:

10952-nov22 001.jpg

He added a port to the front of the radio, by tapping into this harness:

**broken link removed**

Which is fine and all, if you want to drill a hole in the front of your radio.