Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Trying to create an attenuated inverted circuit...

Status
Not open for further replies.

si2030

Hi there,

I am having some trouble with this.

I have a sin wave signal, very slow, 0 to 30 volts which I want to invert and make 0 to 3 volts... how do I do this?

Tried an opamp approach (Used LF353 as I have it already) as well as transistors in spice but I am not very good with either..

Hoping someone might give me some direction on this...

Kind Regards

Simon

I have something working...

Here is a picture of the circuit and simulation as its working...

I am not sure what I have done but it works... could someone explain how this biasing works..

..this is a bit of a fluke and would be nice to know how to tweak this intelligently.

Simon

View attachment 61636

Further, the file is called single rail amplification which is where I started... Ideally I would like to have the op amp work on a single rail rather than +/-15Volts..

Last edited:
While the circuit you posted looks good on the surface it is not really a good design practice. Give this link a read Place the focus on Attenuation starting around page 6. You will see while your circuit may look good in a simulation it is not a good idea as well as a good way to get the results you want.

Ron

This might not be the best way to do it, but here is the way to calculate what you were trying to do.