Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Trouble with seven segment display.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeggyman

Hi all, I'm new to electronics and recently purchased myself some basic equipment in order to begin experimenting with it because I want to make a hobby out of it. One of the things I bought was a seven segment display from radio shack. Part number 276-075. I tried to hook it up according to the information on the back but was unsuccesful. I thought perhaps I could post the information they give on the package and tell you guys how I interpreted it and then you could tell me where I've gone and how I could correctly wire it.

First off there are 10 pins on the display. They are marked as follows on the back of the package. (the package lists 4 non-existent pins as no pin).
1. Anode F
2. Anode G
3. No pin
4. Common Cathode
5. No pin
6. Anode E
7. Anode D
8. Anode C
9. Anode RHDP
10. No pin
11. No pin
12. Common Cathode
13. Anode B
14 Anode A

It also lists some maximum ratings as follows.
Forward current: 30mA
Forward Voltage: 2V
Reverses Voltage: 5V
Power dissipation: 100mW