Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

transmitter- receiver

Status
Not open for further replies.
That is a very low radio frequency. It is almost an ultrasonic frequency. Then its antennas will need to be extremely long.
Have you seen the huge antenna for an AM radio station that has a frequency that is 3 times to 9 times higher?

ohhhh...that sounds i'm screwed.. actually i'm new to this field...i was jus asked to make 180khz receiver circuit from my college..

Weren't you taught about super-heterodyne radio circuits?
But for low range then a simple crystal radio child's toy circuit will work.
Where will you find a radio transmitter with the very unusually low frequency of only 180kHz?

Why 180 kHz Frequency?
The V6, operating at 180kHz, is designed to
work well in both fresh and salt water. Choosing
this frequency enabled VEMCO to develop
a small, lightweight tag that would still operate
well in marine environments. Tags with operating
frequencies greater than 200 kHz are less
effective in salt water. Depending on the conditions
of your location the V6 can have up to 200
metres range. The V6 is also the first in a series
of even smaller and lighter transmitters.

Apparently the frequency is popular with fish? Check this link out. Company is located in Canada (of course). :)

A Google of 180 KHz transmitters receivers actually brings up some hits.

parthshah08