Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transmitter Receiver project help -ADF

Status
Not open for further replies.

nilesh.7650

Hi, I am an Aerospace Engineering student and need help on a communication project.

The project is making a small ADF i.e. 'Automatic Direction Finder' which is used in aircrafts to locate the correct bearing to the airport.
I am not an expert at making electronic projects so I need step by step guidance for making it.

Here is a reference link to a PDF document containing circuit diagram and general explanation:
**broken link removed**

General Introduction:
Radio direction finder - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

At the first stage, how do i go about using a loop antenna?

The cited PDF takes forever to load; I gave up.

ADF based on VLF transmitters is dead. The VLF transmitters are being decomissioned by the FAA as we speak. I tore the ADF out all my aircraft years ago.
You might prefer a system based on VHF (108-136MHz), where the aircraft can follow a needle to the airport or navaid.

They've already dumped LORAN (Feb 18th) and now it looks like VOR (service reductions starting this year) may be on the way out...leaving only GPS. :(

ken

1.71MB...loaded for me in about 20 seconds. Slow, but loaded.

Ken

Hi..Any one have simple ADF circuit ..Please share as it will helpful for my project work.

thanks in advance

Last edited by a moderator:
A DF loop that could be used manually is quite simple.