Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transistor testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dr.james

hi i am new to electronics and i want to learn electronics very well, so my first question is how to test a transistor? I know absolutely nothing about electronics!. Help me

The first and most useful thing is to look at the transistor-diode equivalent test. A bipolar transistor will look like two diodes in the following configuration:
transistor_test.gif
So use the diode setting on your meter. With the black lead on the base of a PNP, you should see about .7V on the Emitter and Collector. Then reverse the two leads and it should read open both ways. For an NPN, use the red (+) lead on the base to see the .7V.

Read the number off the transistor and use the internet to find out what kind it is, and where the base, emitter and collector leads are located.

Last edited:
thanx Duffy, and are you talking about testing a transistor that is working in a powered circuit(a biased transistor?)? If so can you tell me how to test another transistor that is not powered (not biased) or not connected into a circuit?

This IS for testing a transistor that is not wired into anything. You have a multimeter, right? See that diode symbol on there? That's the setting you want to use. Touch the test leads together and it should read "0" (or "Shrt"). Open should blink a number, or read "OPn". On a good diode, or these transistors, it will read about "0.7".

hi,