Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transistor question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave John

Please excuse my ignorance, I'm just getting started doing little random projects to introduce myself into building fun/practical circuits.

The first project I'm doing is an LED light table which reacts to hand movement, I plan to achieve this by using LED emitters and receivers to read the light reflected off an object to turn on a coloured LED, most people appear to use a single colour LED but I want to be able to change the colour based on a three switches, one to turn on each of the RGB LED legs.

Each coloured LED in the table will show the same colour but As each IR receiver is linked to it's own coloured LED in a pair isolated from any other IR/LED pair I have to keep the switch almost remotely so it can apply to all LEDs but still maintain their isolation.

I don't want to do PIC programming or use an Arduino so I can keep costs down but also to make is highly scalable/flexible and cheap

Below is circuit I've drawn, I've not shown the IR emitter and receiver part but it's on the negative line going into the LM358, is a transistor a sensible item to use to achieve what I want? If not what would be a good solution?

**broken link removed**

Thanks,
Dave

Are the tricolor LEDs common anode or common cathode?

How much current through each color LED to get the brightness you need?
What is the forward voltage drop across each color LED to get the brightness you need?