Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transistor DC motor moving, but slowly

Status
Not open for further replies.

jbchrist

Hi,

I am studying electronics and am trying to figure out how to use transistors. I have a TIP 31 NPN transistor that I am using to sink the DC motor load (like the image attached). I don't have a resistor from the PIC to the base.

I tested it and it works just fine. When my PIC input goes high it runs, when it goes low it stops just as anticipated. HOWEVER, the motor moves slowly. I don't get it. Can someone help me understand what is going on?

I've read many many threads regarding this topic, but I can't seem to answer my question.

Thanks

Attachments

• NPN.PNG
    NPN.PNG
    45.7 KB · Views: 194
Hi,

I am studying electronics and am trying to figure out how to use transistors. I have a TIP 31 NPN transistor that I am using to sink the DC motor load (like the image attached). I don't have a resistor from the PIC to the base.

I tested it and it works just fine. When my PIC input goes high it runs, when it goes low it stops just as anticipated. HOWEVER, the motor moves slowly. I don't get it. Can someone help me understand what is going on?

I've read many many threads regarding this topic, but I can't seem to answer my question.

Thanks

Hi,
You should have a base resistor.
The most likely reason why the motor is running slow is because the base current from the PIC is about 20mA, depending upon the motor current required, the TIP is not saturating.