Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

transistor: active, cut-off, saturation, and pinch off!

Status
Not open for further replies.

PG1995

Hi :)

I was searching if a transistor is linear device or not. A linear device has a linear relationship between current and voltage (Ohm's law). I'm a beginner in this electricity and electronic stuff. So, please keep your reply simple.;) Thanks.

While searching I found this:
We will operate transistor mainly in 4 regions, namely active , cut-off, saturation and pinch off region, depending on the type of biasing. If it is under active region then transistor is a linear device (linearity in the sense if the output is proportional to input then it is said to be linear).

So far I only know that a transistor has a collector, base, and emitter points.

It would be extremely nice of you if you could explain it a bit. I would be much grateful.

Regards
PG

For a bipolar (NPN or PNP) transisto biased into the active (linear) region, the collector current is proportional to the base current.

Good question, deserves good answer.

Just for starters, here's a curve you want to become familiar with for transistors, known as the "load line" (it's a plot of Vce--collector-emitter voltage--vs. Ic, collector current):

**broken link removed**

Saturation is at upper left, cutoff is at lower right. Saturation, as the term implies, means "can't do no more!". Cutoff means that no current flows.

More to come later ...

Thanks a lot, MikeMl, carbonzit.