Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transformerless power supply

Status
Not open for further replies.

satish.kumar1

I am an engineering student and i am curious to know about circuit designing. Recently i have searched about transformerless power supply to step down to 9 to 12 volts but i am unsatisfied with the results. Please help me what are the elements to use and what is the maximum output current we get. Please provide me full details by describing the advantages and disadvantages of this circuit.

This App note from Microchip should answer technical specifics:

https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2007/12/00954A.pdf

(I noticed some errors in the index in the PDF document: It refers to "Figure 2: Vout at Startup with 10KW Load". :eek: This should be "10KOhm Load". The error is repeated in the index for Figures 2,3,4,6,7,and 8. The actual document Figures are correct.)

These power supplies are generally only used for low currents (ie <50mA).

The biggest disadvantage is "safety", because of the direction connection of the output, and whatever circuit you are powering, directly to the power mains. I have used these, but it is critical that no part of the electrical circuit be accessable to the user. If you have never designed or worked with mains-voltage circuits, I would strongly recommend against these.

Ken

The advantage is low cost and small size. Disadvantages include low current and no isolation from mains.

satish.kumar1 said: