Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transformer Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

peter5355

How can you tell the differance between a Driver transformer
and an output transformer.

And how can you a identify one from another is there any markings on them that tell you.

Peter:confused:

Some thoughts based on stuff I've seen (this is a hobby, I am not a pro). All comments assume this is audio stuff.

1. Sometimes an output transformer will have COM, 8, 16 near one set of windings - usually means 8 or 16 ohms and my experience is related to vacuum tube/valve amp. It tells you nothing about the primary but you can work backward and apply small AC voltage to the secondary -then measure the primary to get a turns ratio.

2. Usually the driver transformer will be smaller and neither the primary nor the secondary will be low impedances (like 8 ohms or 16 ohms).

3. For a time, solid state audio amps made use of transformers between stages and at the output. I've wondered if this wasn't a carryover from vacuum tube days - then designers eventually found a way to live without them. Typically the drivers were smaller - though for solid state stuff I've only seen transformers on relatively low power amps - a watt or two at most.

stevez said:
I've wondered if this wasn't a carryover from vacuum tube days - then designers eventually found a way to live without them.