Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transformer/Capacitor question

Status
Not open for further replies.
George L. said:
ok, I get it....... :D

Do the resistors need to be able to handle high voltage???
I would like to use the 100K 1/2W resistors from radioshack because it is 2 minutes from my house.

Also, this is my first time using voltage balencing resitors for caps. Where do I put them??? I remmember you said I need three.

For the diagram above (with the three in parallel and three in series) you would need three resistors - you put then in series from +ve to -ve, with their junctions connected to the junctions of the capacitors.

The resistors need to be able to handle the voltage, and also dissipate the heat they generate - you can simply work that out from VxV/R - for 300V it comes to just under 1W, I would advise using two watt resistors!.

sorry nigel,

I dont really understand what you are saying, could you provide a simple diagram like ljcox did, it would be really helpful.

Also, radioshack only has 1/2 watt resistor, could I in some way, combine those to make a 1 or 2 watt resistor.

Thanks,

George

George L. said:
sorry nigel,

I dont really understand what you are saying, could you provide a simple diagram like ljcox did, it would be really helpful.

Also, radioshack only has 1/2 watt resistor, could I in some way, combine those to make a 1 or 2 watt resistor.

You could use four 100K 1/2W in series/parallel to give 100K 2W.

Here's the diagram you asked for.