Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Tough problem, don't know how to start!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kasuyama

Hey guys i'm new to microcontrollers and in my class we were given this problem:

Program a PIC 12F629 to output a square wave that is as close to 400 times slower than your actual internal clock frequency [i.e 100 times slower than your actual instruction cycle time]
This is to be displayed on GP1. You must use Timer0 and you must use the interrupt capability of Timer0. Your program that gets interrupted by the timer can be just "self goto self"

I have no idea how to go about this and I am completely lost. Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks.

Hi,
I would have thought the classwork should have prepared you enough to enable you, to at least make a start on an answering the question.

Can you post the program attempt that you have written.

To solve this problem you have to understand how the uC works inside. In this case it is regarding the Timer 0 function. There is a register in the IC that is dedicated to interupts, you need to enable timer0 as an interupt and specify where it is to go in the program once an interupt has occured. Find something else for the IC to do while it is waiting for a timer0 interupt. On interupt have it togle GPIO, 1.

The timer normaly devides the clock frequency by 4 as you may already know. You have to load a value into the timer0 counter other wise it will keep counting until it over flows and you will get the wrong outcome.