Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

total noob seeks help making a simple on/off timer circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

julius_A

hello.

Totall noob here. I know how to solder and could tell the difference between a resister and a capacitor, but have no idea how to connect them together properly and or choose correct specs.

I'd like to make a small circuit that switches on for maybe 0.5 second and then waits maybe 5 minutes before switching on again. If these could be adjustable and/or randomised that would be even better. Ultimately this would result in a physical movement and I'm guessing the simplest/ cheapest option would be for the circuit to switch on/ off a small electric motor (but let me know if there are other options). Ideally running from a small cell battery (button)(1.5V).

any help gratefully received! Or point me to the right place.
Julius

Welcome,

The button cell can run the timer, but no way is it going to move a motor.

How about **broken link removed**

even a tiny motor? it doesn't need any heavy lifting!
There are button cells, and then there are button cells. Tell us more about what you want to do...
Do you have a motor in mind? If so post a link.

thanks Mike. I'm making a load of cardboard owls that will be weighted so they perch on horizontal beams in a barn, and along wooden tree branches.