Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Total NOOB looking for help with motor direction.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ross1966

Hi,

I am looking for help in building a circuit that will make my electric motor travel in a clockwise direction then after hitting a switch travel in a counter clockwise direction. Think of it like a teeter todder, when the teeter todder hits the ground on the one side the direction of the motor switches and the teeter todder is told to travel in the opposite direction. Can anyone help me out? I need to know if some thing already exists out there that I can just buy or if I need to build it? If I do need to build it what parts would I need? Any help is very much appreciated.

Ross1966

Here is a link to Video that is similar to what I am trying to do. I will not be using the linkage to the motor like in the video, I will just be running the motor directly to the piece of wood. Again at the pivot point just like a teeter todder.

You could use two limit switches, and a latching DPDT relay. The relay is wired as a bridge to reverse the voltage to the motor each time it is triggered by the corresponding limit switch. You will also need 4 diodes to protect the relay contacts from the motor inductive spike.
Does that sound okay to you?

What is the motor current and the power supply voltage to the motor?

The video does not show a motor. Instead it shows a motor and a gearbox. The gearbox slows the speed and increases the torque.