Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Total newbie simple led questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

rob.m

Hi everyone,first thanks for taking the time to read this and reply to me:)

My experiance in electronics does not go far im afraid and i dont mind admitting that! i have some from school ten years ago but thats about it:eek:

So im here because im trying to design my own taillights for my car,as there are not many aftermarket ones for me that i like.Now using the web for most of the afternoon and this site **broken link removed** for my calculations i can pretty much do what i need to do,but i want to know a little more that i cant seem to find through google so hope you people can help me:confused:

Below is a standard spec of a super bright led!The question i have is how would i go about changing the brightness of the led ? would i alter what my forward voltage operates at-ie 3.2v=bright, 3.6= brighter? or do i change the continuous forward current?ie continuous forward current being at 30ma and to get it brighter go up to 50ma continuous or would either way do what i want?

Absolute maximum ratings: Ta = 25°C
Power dissipation: 108mW
Peak forward current: 100mA
Continuous forward current: 30mA
Derating factor: 0.4mA/°C
Reverse voltage: 5V
Operating temperature: -25 to +85°C
Storage temperature: -35 to +100°C
Soldering temperature: 260°C / 5secs
Absolute optical characteristics:
Ta = 25°C, If = 20mA, Vr = 5V
Symbol Min Typ Max
Forward voltage: Vf 3.2V 3.6V